I [Want to] Believe in Miracles

I am considering whether to post some links to scientific news. It’s all so direly, upsettingly bad, but I think that because I read these things, I am aware, and I wonder if people who are not upset are not aware.  That’s the positivist approach– that education leads to knowledge leads to action leads to change.   (Hasn’t happened so far!)

But, in the meantime, I am really going to start believing in miracles and hoping for technofixes.   I just can’t let my imagination go down the route of the realities being suggested by the meteorological studies, and of course the terrible implications for millions and millions of human beings.  It is so worst-case science fiction, fucking unbelievable!  And those who don’t see the potential for all this, either unaware or in some insidious denial.

Oh it’s just disturbing enough to think of the climate disruption we are in the “pipeline” to experience, based on what as already been released in our atmosphere, let alone what we continue to burn, everyday, power station by power station, airplane by airplane, data processing centre by data processing centre…

So, I might as well be on a street-corner with a placard.  (Well, this blog is a virtual version of this.)

Instead, as I wrote last time, every day I am going to devote a small amount of time to positive actions, and I am going to see if I can imagine what MIRACLES are possible.

And consider what modes of spirituality/religiousness are most appropriate to the coming times–  we are going to need a powerful sense of local community, and global community.  We are going to need a lot of internal calm to deal with the terror of unknown “natural” forces.  And praying to which God, and chanting which sutras are going to help. I don’t know what is going to happen to the idea of God-is-Good.

Yesterday I listened on the internet to Jim Garrison speak at Bioneers about a goal of 80% reduction in greenhouse emissions by 2020 and I found this figure totally inspiring. Impossible? Yes. But we have to make it possible, and that’s one place to imagine a miracle. 10% in 2010 is a place to start…

One Response to “I [Want to] Believe in Miracles”

  1. nicola baird Says:

    Hi, good resolves! I think you might like to see some of the climate change communication ideas by Futerra. This recent blog entry is good http://www.futerra.co.uk/blog/592

    I turned to Futerra after attending a v depressing Transition Town conference on the future of food (globally and near where I live) which made me feel physically sick after realising just how bad the foodie future looks. But who would want to jump on the change wagon with people who manage to make even me feel so low? Futerra has some good advice about this, just as you have by working to be positive (one action at a time) despite the knowledge and the migraines (horrible). We just have to stay happy and seem like the cool guys/ leaders of the geek pack plus whatever other tips George pointed out in Carbon Detox. So here’s to being happy to face the challenges in the same way that your kids are looking forward to being proper planet heroes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

